It is currently Tue May 23, 2017 12:46 pm



Welcome
Welcome to antiX-forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WICD Problem
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 1:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:07 am
Posts: 62
Location: Eastern USA
I was recently out of town looking for work. I've never had a problem with using WICD in antiX before in public libraries, but this time I did. When I tried to use the antiXcc, it kept asking for the wired-default network, and said that there ere no wireless networks found. I know that wireless was avavilable, because there were several other patrons using their laptops wirelessly. I'm using atiX 8.5, recently upgraded - do I need to upgrade to/install a newer version of antiX?
Any idea of what the problem could be? I've tried to install WICD since returning home, but apt-get says I already have the most recent version installed :? :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WICD Problem
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 2:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 12:55 am
Posts: 276
Location: Stony Lake, Michigan
Have you tried ceni?
What kind of wireless card do you have?

_________________
I support the candidate that will steal the least from me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WICD Problem
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 4:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 3974
Location: Pecos, Texas
Quote:
t kept asking for the wired-default network, and said that there ere no wireless networks found. I know that wireless was avavilable, because there were several other patrons using their laptops wirelessly.


If I had been you. I would would have run as root in terminal.

Code:
ifconfig -a


Code:
[email protected]:~$ sux
Password:
[email protected]:/home/harry# ifconfig -a
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:e0:4d:77:2c:76 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0x2800

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:100 (100.0 B)  TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0b:a2:1c:eb:8f 
          inet addr:192.168.2.14  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20b:a2ff:fe1c:eb8f/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:9500 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:9837 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:7892267 (7.5 MiB)  TX bytes:1921612 (1.8 MiB)

[email protected]:/home/harry# iwlist wlan0 event
wlan0     Wireless Events supported :
          0x8B04 : Set Frequency/Channel (kernel generated)
          0x8B06 : Set Mode (kernel generated)
          0x8B15 : New Access Point/Cell address - roaming
          0x8B19 : Scan request completed
          0x8B1A : Set ESSID (kernel generated)
          0x8B2A : Set Encoding (kernel generated)

wlan0     Scanning capabilities :
      - ESSID


Then made sure wlan0 was in wicd wireless preferences. Then hit the refresh button in wicd. Then when library connection shows. Connect to Library.

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Linux at Home courses
How to Search for AntiX solutions to your problems


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WICD Problem
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:07 am
Posts: 62
Location: Eastern USA
afab4 wrote:
Have you tried ceni?
What kind of wireless card do you have?


I'm not familiar with using ceni.
I have a Broadcom wireless card.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WICD Problem
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 3:50 pm
Posts: 516
Location: DFW
Ceni is dead simple, and works much better IMHO than wicd, it seems to me that each new iteration of wicd presents some problems. In the new antiX test2, wicd would not work noway nohow, that is until I used ceni, then miraculously wicd now would show my wireless. For instructions on ceni, go here:

http://antix.mepis.org/index.php?title= ... icles#Ceni

cheers,
ohh

_________________
Never belive anything until it has been officially denied.
Claude Cockburn (1904-1981)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred