It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 3:47 am



Welcome
Welcome to antiX-forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 9:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 5833
Location: Greece
Yes it should be.

You may also need to change the DefaultColorDepth from 16 to 24.

_________________
Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 11:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 5:16 pm
Posts: 1520
Location: Canada's South Coast
If you monitor supports 1280x960 why do you want to knock it back to 1024x768? This will make everything real big on that monitor. Do you have a vision problem?

eriefisher


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Netherlands
eriefisher wrote:
If you monitor supports 1280x960 why do you want to knock it back to 1024x768? This will make everything real big on that monitor. Do you have a vision problem?

eriefisher

Yes and the problem is the text of Conky, in the top left of the screen, is partially outside the screen and I do not know how to correct this other than by choosing another resolution. Have you got another idea?
By the way the resolution 1024x768 on a 15 inch monitor is okay to me.

I have some other problem. I do not know whether this is screen or resolution related. It is about suddenly starting to 'flicker'. But because this thread is about installing on a harddisk I will start another one about this.

Thanks,

Piedie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 12:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:56 am
Posts: 316
Location: UK
Piedie, conky is completely configurable by changing things in your .conkyrc file (which resides in your home directory). If you can post the contents of that here, maybe someone could point to what you could change to make it work better for your screen?

As a starter, check the width settings in the conky config.... they'll look something like the following:

Code:
# Minimum size of text area
minimum_size 210 5

# Maximum width of window
maximum_width 210


Changing that could help, or also maybe change the font size?

Anyway, post the config when you get a chance. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Netherlands
anticapitalista wrote:
Yes it should be.

You may also need to change the DefaultColorDepth from 16 to 24.


Okay. I changed all the 1280x960 to 1024x768. Everything seems all right to me now. I left the DefaultColorDepth at 16 for the moment.
I do not understand (yet) why I had to change so many times the values. I guess I do not really understand what is all the info in xorg.conf. But maybe I will later. It is enough for now.

My next challenge will be setting up my Canon i455 printer. I found some info on the Mepis site. I will start a new topic of it when it gives troubles. Maybe I will "meet" you then again.... :lol:

O, by the way: I edited the xorg.conf file with vi. What would you choose?

Thanks,

Piedie

P.S.: DJiNN I will leave Conky for what it is now. Maybe I will come back to that later :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 11:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 5833
Location: Greece
antiX comes with nano, so I would use that. You could also use the test editor leafpad as root (if in X).

It is probably easier to set up printer via the cups server online. Hopefully it shouldn't be too difficult, though you may need to install extra apps.

http://antix.mepis.com/index.php/User_a ... figuration

You probably should have hit F3 at the boot menu when using the livecd to choose the correct resolution. But glad all is well.

_________________
Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Logging in as root in X
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Netherlands
anticapitalista wrote:
antiX comes with nano, so I would use that. You could also use the test editor leafpad as root (if in X).

It is probably easier to set up printer via the cups server online. Hopefully it shouldn't be too difficult, though you may need to install extra apps.

http://antix.mepis.com/index.php/User_a ... figuration

You probably should have hit F3 at the boot menu when using the livecd to choose the correct resolution. But glad all is well.

Hi,

When AntiX starts up I can not login as root in the presented login screen.
Afterwards I use the terminal to login as root. But when I go back I'm logged in again as a normal user. How can I login as root in X (this is the graphical screens I suppose)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 8:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 5833
Location: Greece
Simply put, you can't login as root.
This is donbe for security reasons.

Now if you *really8 do want to login as root, the you have to use a cheat at the boot/gub menu to disable the login manager called slim. This will take you to a text login prompt. You can then use root login.
The cheat is
nogui

_________________
Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 10:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Netherlands
anticapitalista wrote:
Simply put, you can't login as root.
This is donbe for security reasons.

Now if you *really8 do want to login as root, the you have to use a cheat at the boot/gub menu to disable the login manager called slim. This will take you to a text login prompt. You can then use root login.
The cheat is
nogui

So then I cannot use Nano or Leafpad via the terminal where I can login as root which means I do have to use vi :?:

Sorry, but with what you said about the cheat code I would not know what to do. I'm not that advanced yet. Do I have to edit a file for this :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 11:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 5833
Location: Greece
There is no need to login as root.
If you need to make changes to files as root user, then you can
Open terminal
type sux (or su)
root password
leafpad /path to file

or nano path to file.

eg nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
leafpad /etc/apt/sources.list

If you *really* do wish to login as root user, then when you are ar the boot menu screen, and have highlighted your boot option, then start typing nogui, hit enter and you will boot to a black screen asking for login. Here you can type root then password at prompt, then startx.

This will take you to an ugly fluxbox desktop (deliberately so to discourage root login). Now you are logged in as root, be very careful what you do.

_________________
Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred