It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:02 pm



Welcome
Welcome to antiX-forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:32 pm
Posts: 12
The CD was ok - I burned it new - x4 with DAO - installed it new - stops on the same point with the same massage - sad ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 5897
Location: Greece
Alert! does not exist. Dropping to a shell!
Check your root= boot argument (cat /proc/cmdline)
Check for missing modules (cat /proc/modules), or device files (ls /dev)

What does the installed /boot/grub/menu.lst file show?
You can see it from the livecd (at least that does boot with the correct cheatcode am I right?)

_________________
Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:32 pm
Posts: 12
it was my fault - I did not install grub, because I already had it.
I installed antiX on another computer noticed and changed the grub entry - now it works.

Next problem - the screen was not nice, so I installed the amd driver and took the xorg.conf from Arch

now I get:

(WW) AMD(0) The amd driver didn`t call xf86SetGamma() to initialise the gamma values
(WW) AMD(0) PLEASE FIX THE `amd` DRIVER!
(EE) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI capable

does this meen, that the amd driver is broken, or the wrong repostitory?

Thanks for your help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:32 pm
Posts: 12
I tried to reconfigure Xorg

# xorg - reconfigure

(EE) LoadModule: Module ztv does not have a ztvModuleData data objekt.
(EE) Failed to load module "ztv" (invalid module, 0)

Fatal server error:
Cought signal 11. Server aborting

does anybody have any idea, what I can do?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 5897
Location: Greece
In what way was the screen not nice before you used the Arch xorg.conf?

Do you have nvidia or ati drivers installed? For example on my box, I had to use the vesa option for livecd and also to install nvidi drivers to get my screen looking right.

_________________
Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:32 pm
Posts: 12
The pictures are not sharp, the colours are a bit strange, and it is some kind of flicker all the time (I hope, it is understandable - it is hard to express for me in english) - and the Monitor has a resolution of 1600 x 1200 - I only get 1024 x 768 - but this is perhaps a wrong VGA number in the boot options.

with the AMD driver 1600 x 1200 looks good - I was really astonished

and the Usb-Mouse is not recogniced - I have to plug it in again, when the desktop is established - then it works


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred