It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:56 am



Welcome
Welcome to antiX-forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 2730
Location: Pecos, Texas
Instead of crowding the thread at http://antix.freeforums.org/antix-m8-5-marek-edelman-released-t2322.html

I figured I better start my own thread with this as I probably won't be able to write a good tutorial for what I am trying to do.

My posts on this plus replies are in the above link to where I have gotten to so far.

My fdisk -l look like

Code:
# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 4034 MB, 4034838528 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 490 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0009d2e8

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1         488     3919828+  83  Linux
/dev/sda3             489         489        8032+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda4             490         490        8032+  ef  EFI (FAT-12/16/32)

Disk /dev/sdb: 16.1 GB, 16139354112 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1962 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00091fd8

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1        1962    15759733+  83  Linux

Disk /dev/sdc: 3957 MB, 3957325824 bytes
61 heads, 60 sectors/track, 2111 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 3660 * 512 = 1873920 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1               3        2112     3860480    b  W95 FAT32


Stock /etc/fstab looks like
Code:
# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda1 / auto defaults,noatime 1 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
# Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda3 /mnt/sda3 vfat noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 ext2 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0


Since I want to move my /home file/directory from root on sda1 to /dev/sdb1.
Here is what I am thinking of trying next. Tell me if I am wrong.

Since install is virgin and all I have done is apt-get update && upgrade which all upgrade did was upgrade xorg. I was thinking of doing this next.

Boot up live USB. Open Rox as root (2 rox windows) and drag /home from sda1 over to sdb2 and select move. This should place everything in /home into sdb2. The /home directory should be gone from sda1 after that.

Next. Drag /home from sdb2 back over to sda1 and select absolute link to create a symlink from sda1 to sdb2.

Then edit the link in fstab to read

Code:
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 ext2 auto,users,exec,relatime 0 0


Whaddya think. Does that sound like a plan or what? Or am I just dreaming?
:P
Edit: should I also edit fstab instead to read

Code:
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 ext2 auto defaults,noatime 1 1


since noatime is good for SSD drives. I aint real hip on what to do with fstab after doing what plan to do.

Off topic: am noticing wicd is dropping connection every once in a while. But that is for later. First thing first.

Edit: Seems a couple of reboots fixed the wicd dropping out issue. One less thing to tinker with.

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Takes a Lot of MONEY to create poverty.
Linux atHome courses
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell


Last edited by rokytnji on Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 2730
Location: Pecos, Texas
Well being the impatient knuckle dragging biker that I am. I figured what the heck. And dragged and dropped /home to sdb1 using rox as root and then creating the symlink like I described above but instead of absolute link I did a relative link instead. I had no need to use Live USB either to do this. Just did this from running install. Then I edited /etc/fstab to look like it does below.

Code:
# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda1 / auto defaults,noatime 1 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
# Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda3 /mnt/sda3 vfat noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 ext2 auto,users,exec,noatime,errors=remount-ro 1 2


I made a backup of fstab first of course. I may think like a box of rocks sometimes but I learn as I go I guess. I rebooted after changes and low and behold. I was able to login with slim (I couldn't before with my other try at changing /home).

I gotts a screeshot to show how things look now. I hope I got this right. Cuz if I did. This was a lot simpler to do my way. I can write about this one.

Neato. When I went to upload my screenshot. The window showed /mnt/sdb1/home/harry/screenshot.thumb. WooooooHooo

Attachment:
screenshot-thumb.jpg
screenshot-thumb.jpg [ 40.83 KiB | Viewed 3888 times ]

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Takes a Lot of MONEY to create poverty.
Linux atHome courses
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell


Last edited by rokytnji on Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 2730
Location: Pecos, Texas
My conky also now shows /home as sdb1 which shows as 14 gig now from 15 gig since I made my changes.

Attachment:
screenshot-thumb.jpg
screenshot-thumb.jpg [ 33.01 KiB | Viewed 3904 times ]


As we bikers say, "I am in hog heaven"

Attachment:
conkyrc.modified.tar.gz [3.07 KiB]
Downloaded 269 times

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Takes a Lot of MONEY to create poverty.
Linux atHome courses
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell


Last edited by rokytnji on Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 2730
Location: Pecos, Texas
Before I write up anything on this. Can I have SilverBears, Antis, Secipollas, eriefishers, anybodys opinion on what the hell I did is correct? I don't want to write a tutorial that is incorrect. Like I said. I am a virgin at this sort of stuff. Had to feel my way around and experiment a bit.

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Takes a Lot of MONEY to create poverty.
Linux atHome courses
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:56 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
Congrats! That's it roky.
It looks good to me, better still if its working :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 2730
Location: Pecos, Texas
I guess since I moved /home to sdb1. My terminal now looks like this

Attachment:
screenshot1.jpg
screenshot1.jpg [ 19.72 KiB | Viewed 3873 times ]

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Takes a Lot of MONEY to create poverty.
Linux atHome courses
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 4821
Location: Greece
Great job. Keep on testing it. Downloading files, ripping cds, video, transferring images from usb devices such as sticks, phones, cameras (things I don't own LOL) etc whatever users normally do ans check all works well. (I see no reason why it shouldn't).

_________________
Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:56 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
While ROX works great, the command line is usually safer to do these kind of things (note that I know very little on linux commands) because you know exactly what you're doing.
In your case, assuming the mounting of sdb1 is dealt with:
Code:
cp -rp /home /mnt/sdb1

Code:
rm -r /home

Code:
ln -s /mnt/sdb1/home /home


(correct me if it's wrong, please)

For instance, I just use wodim from the command line (as root) to burn isos, it's simpler and has the session at once option:
Code:
wodim -v -sao speed=4 antiX-M8.5.iso

*if speed=4 doesn't work, use speed=0 for the lowest speed supported.


Last edited by secipolla on Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 1013
rok, you might want to move your /dev/sdb1 entry in fstab to the permanent area instead of the dynamic area. that's a housekeeping issue though. pretty cool stuff.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha 2gb ram, 160gb hd, intel atom antix 13 32 bit
hp dm4-1265 8gb ram, 320 gb hd, intel core I5 antix 13 64 bit/MX-14 32 bit PAE
sony vaio 512 mb ram, 20 gb hd, 900 mhz AMD DURON antix 13 32 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:57 pm
Posts: 23
Hey, roc!
Looks good to me, too.
Dolphin_oracle makes a good point, though. With Warren's script in force that updates /etc/fstab at every boot, you want essential partitions mounting up in the top section, above that "dynamic" comment line.

Like secipolla, I tend to do critical stuff like this though the command line. Then I can look at what I typed and make sure it's right before I hit "enter." With a GUI, I'm one step removed from the process. . . plus, using a mouse means maybe I'll bobble the click-drag-release process due to some unforseen reason. . . a gunshot going off nearby, my secretary shifting her position on my lap, whatever! :lol:

Also, sometimes when using a GUI filemanager as root, all the permissions get switched over to root ownership --which one does not want for files inside /home/myusername. In secipolla's cp command, using the "p" option preserves the existing file characteristics, even tho it's the root user doing the copy operation.

Quibbling & personal preferences aside, looks to me like you got what you wanted. CONGRATS!

Some alternate ways, just for the sake of round-table discussion, not that they're better:
1] As long as the /home directory structure on the new partition is correct, you can mount it directly in the /etc/fstab like this( the first few lines copied from my Mepis 8 desktop install's /etc/fstab):
Quote:
# #############################################################
# ################# MEPIS 8.0 /etc/fstab ##################
# #############################################################
# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda1 / ext3 defaults,noatime 1 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
/dev/sdb9 swap swap sw,pri=1 0 0
/dev/sdb12 /home reiserfs defaults,noatime 1 2



2] Leave the /home directory on the root partition, and do what you did with just the /home/harry subdirectory.

The point is, on GNU/Linux system, you can pretty much put anything anywhere you want to, providing you make certain:
1 - It's mounted to root
2 - It's linked (hard or soft) to where it needs to be.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 2730
Location: Pecos, Texas
Quote:
move your /dev/sdb1 entry in fstab to the permanent


Thanks for the good idea Dolphin. Will do that later today.

Quote:
While ROX works great, the command line is usually safer to do these kind of things


Yeah, I used the command line when I copied over /home to sdb1 the first time by using the command

Code:
$cd /home/
$find . -depth -print0 | cpio --null --sparse -pvd /mnt/sdb1


which did copy /home over to sdb1. The instructions had me make a /old_home also plus left /home behind in sda1. My problem was I started out deleting /old_home and then /home in sda1 and lost /home in sdb1 also when I deleted both of the above in sda1. I lost ./,xinitrc I bet when this happened which killed slim login. And I had to do the reinstall.

Just saw your post Silver bear. Thanks a bunch for looking at my thread and the advice. I will pore over your post after I hit submit button.

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Takes a Lot of MONEY to create poverty.
Linux atHome courses
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:44 am
Posts: 2730
Location: Pecos, Texas
Followed advice for editing fstab. New fstab below.

Code:
# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda1 / auto defaults,noatime 1 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 ext2 auto,users,exec,noatime,errors=remount-ro 1 2
# Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda3 /mnt/sda3 vfat noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0


In case anybody on the net is reading any of this. I edit /etc/fstab text file by opening Pacmanfm as regular user. Use the up arrow key to maneuver to /. Open up /etc. Right click on open space inside of /etc. Pick Open terminal. If it says terminal not set . Just pick rox-terminal from the drop down arrow in the box in the next window. Then after setting the terminal that will open. Right click again and select Open Terminal. Then type in terminal

Code:
gksu leafpad fstab


Edit fstab then just save and thats it.

_________________
Linux Registered User # 475019
Takes a Lot of MONEY to create poverty.
Linux atHome courses
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:56 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
roky, the new antiX comes with gexec as the app that is launched from the Run... menu in IceWM. With it you can type 'leafpad /etc/fstab', check the box that says 'run as root' and hit Enter.
The keyboard shortcut to open it is Windows key + g and you can use Tab to complete big file names


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 1013
Nice feature secipolla. I've going to have to check that out.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha 2gb ram, 160gb hd, intel atom antix 13 32 bit
hp dm4-1265 8gb ram, 320 gb hd, intel core I5 antix 13 64 bit/MX-14 32 bit PAE
sony vaio 512 mb ram, 20 gb hd, 900 mhz AMD DURON antix 13 32 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dealing with a Asus EEE 900 install of AntiX 8.5
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:57 pm
Posts: 23
A couple questions, Rok:

1] Maybe I'm not seeing the big picture, but what happened to sda2? I don't see it mentioned in your first post.

2] in your new /etc/fstab, sdb1 is being mounted as a ext2 filesystem. Is there a reason not to use the safer, journalled version, ext3?

thanks,
--SB


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred