It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:25 am



Welcome
Welcome to antiX-forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 114 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 2148
it looks like in samK's screen captures that removing the persistent-net-rules feature results in a condition where the interface names are not necessarily the same upon reboots. Notice his wired interface name changes between eth0 and eth1. The conky display fails when the system is at eth1 (likely because its coded to display info for eth0 and wlan0).

test2 fails because the setup has already been configured for eth0, but the interface name has changed to eth1.

His notes say he then reconfigured after test 2 . Test 3 maintained the same eth1 name, so the only thing that failed is the conky monitor.

samK, where you using the regular root persistence option or the "static" root persistence option. and please confirm all three test cases were the same machine and you did not use the liveusb on a different machine in between tests.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
sony laptop amd 900mhz duran 512mb ram, antix 13 32-bit
lenovo s21e - 2gb ram, celeron - antiX-16 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:59 am
Posts: 995
dolphin_oracle wrote:
His notes say he then reconfigured after test 2 .
Perhaps not a clearly expressed as I intended. Re-phrasing for clarity "...networking can be successfully established via ceni, or sometimes by rebooting.". The reboot method was used not ceni.

dolphin_oracle wrote:
samK, where you using the regular root persistence option or the "static" root persistence option.
Regular root persistence.

dolphin_oracle wrote:
...please confirm all three test cases were the same machine
Confirmed.

dolphin_oracle wrote:
...you did not use the liveusb on a different machine in between tests.
Confirmed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 2148
samK, one more question: did you shutdown and restart or do a reboot without powering down?

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
sony laptop amd 900mhz duran 512mb ram, antix 13 32-bit
lenovo s21e - 2gb ram, celeron - antiX-16 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:59 am
Posts: 995
dolphin_oracle wrote:
...did you shutdown and restart or do a reboot without powering down?
Unfortunately I cannot remember.

It is likely that test 1-->test 2 was a reboot without power-down.
Test 2-->3 no idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 2148
I cannot reproduce samK issues, but I do have a thought. note that his interfaces are eth0 and eth1 in all cases. While ok per spec, its not the usual naming convention for wireless devices that most people get (wlan0, wlan1, etc...).

so I'm thinking that whichever udev picks up as the first device, and my understanding is that this is not necessarily the same order everytime, gets the eth0 and the other gets eth1. If that is so, running with or without persistence enabled should show the same behavior on samk's hardware.

the 75-persistent-net-generator.rules attempts to compensate for this scenario by matching interface names to the mac address of the device. This is perfectly fine on installed systems, and as far as I can tell, on live systems using network-manager, which doesn't care what the interface name is, since network-manager assumes you might have all kinds of interfaces. wicd assumes you have 2, a wired and a wireless, and those need to be preconfigured. ceni writes its configuration to / etc/network/interfaces, so its design is static as well, but it CAN handle several interface names, even if it can't handle more than one wireless network id per interface like wicd can.

Here's an example of my live system, running static persistence so that the interface names are consistent (this is actually a bug, but useful for this analysis).

Code:
[email protected]:~
$ sudo cat / etc/network/interfaces
[sudo] password for demo:
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
   wpa-psk removed
   wpa-ssid removed

allow-hotplug wlan1
iface wlan1 inet dhcp
   wpa-psk removed
   wpa-ssid removed

[email protected]:~


I changed machines. wlan0 is on a different machine than the one on which I'm currently connected. 70-persistent-net.rules in / etc/udev/rules.d currently has defintions for wlan0 and wlan1 that point to different devices by mac address. however, since I'm on the same wireless network, the connections work on subsequent reboots without problem as the interfaces are still defined.

samk's case is differnet though. he has an interface name that switches between different devices in the same machine (eth0 and eth1). since he was using the dynamic root persistence, which currently doesn't save changes to 70-persistent-net.rules, his interface names switch depening on which one udev finds first. Using static persistence in its current form on the a5 he would not see this problem, as the interface names would be mapped to mac addresses by udev. So in this case, the default udev interface nameing and mapping would be beneficial. removing the exclude in /usr/local/lib/antiX/antiX-excludes.sh would be a boon in samk's case.

admittingly, having wireless on ethX may be the exception rather than the rule these days, so this case may affect only a small number of users. but it will be frustrating for those people.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
sony laptop amd 900mhz duran 512mb ram, antix 13 32-bit
lenovo s21e - 2gb ram, celeron - antiX-16 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 8:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:59 am
Posts: 995
@dolphin_oracle
Thanks for doing the research and reporting. It is really helpful as I presently have little spare capacity to do it.

dolphin_oracle wrote:
...this case may affect only a small number of users. but it will be frustrating for those people.
This particular rig is a Dell using only Dell shipped hardware, so the symptoms might be experienced by plenty of users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:17 am
Posts: 570
BitJam wrote:
Have you tried using "F5 Video Mode" --> "safe" or "F5 Video Mode" --> "vesa"? You can also try typing in "xdrvr=radeon" as a boot parameter. You may need to add "nomodeset" which is what F5 --> "safe" gives you. Use F12 to see the current boot parameters.

I suggest combining F5 --> "safe" with typing in "xdrvr=radeon".


Bitjam,

I got some odd results, but identified why/when things get screwed up which way. I have a dual head Radeon 7000 card RV100/M6 and it adds permutations.

If I connect to the vga 15 pin on the right (according to knoppix 7.05 its VGA-0) I get the normal boot screen, then loading goes to 100%, then I get the black screen and cursor upper left, but everything stops there. nomodeset, vesa, safe, old 1024x768, xdrvr=radeon, nothing helps.

If I connect to the vga 15 pin on the left (i think its DVI-0), I get the graphics error. I can do the nomodeset, but if I do, the radeon driver won't load. I found that warning in the ati archwiki.

The fact that the machine is a Dell gx270 with built-in i915 graphics that doesn't work but can't be disabled completely in bios, and Radeon pci board actually doing the video makes it pretty oddball, so I'm not sure its worth worrying about, other than that other OS's like knoppix 7.05 don't have a problem regardless of which card I connect the monitor to. I'm sorry I can't be of more help.

BTW, On the boot help screen 14r4 it looks like F7 is there twice

_________________
Too many computers, in use now:
1-Dell D620 2gb
2-HP DV9917 4gb
3-Dell E5540 8gb
4-Dell Inspiron 15 7559 16gb
various older machines


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:59 am
Posts: 995
antiX-14-a4-R_386-full.iso patched with a4-a5.delta

Tests conducted booting live USB with no persistence, using shipped defaults

Recording symptoms only (not investigated)


Tests show wireless networking issues.


Test 1
Boot param appended: None
Using Desktop=Default in boot screen (i.e. making no selection)
Network cable not connected to system (i.e. wireless only)
Manual network configuration=None
Code:
ip addr show
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 90:e6:ba:0c:b2:29 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:25:d3:5a:a6:f6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff


inxi -c0 -n

Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet driver: atl1c
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 90:e6:ba:0c:b2:29
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: 00:25:d3:5a:a6:f6
Result
Wireless networking automatic set up fails



Test 2
Boot param appended: None
Using Desktop=Default in boot screen (i.e. making no selection)
Network cable not connected to system (i.e. wireless only)
Manual network configuration=Ceni

Code:
ip addr show
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 90:e6:ba:0c:b2:29 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:25:d3:5a:a6:f6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff


inxi -c0 -n
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet driver: atl1c
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 90:e6:ba:0c:b2:29
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: 00:25:d3:5a:a6:f6


ceni
Ceni requires root priviledges! Be careful!
Password:
Configuring interface wlan0=wlan0 (inet)
run-parts --exit-on-error --verbose / etc/network/if-pre-up.d
run-parts: executing / etc/network/if-pre-up.d/ethtool
run-parts: executing / etc/network/if-pre-up.d/linux-wlan-ng-pre-up
modprobe: FATAL: Module p80211 not found.
Failed to load p80211.ko.
run-parts: / etc/network/if-pre-up.d/linux-wlan-ng-pre-up exited with return code 1
Failed to bring up wlan0.

Press Enter key to continue ...


lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
af_packet              34646  2
parport_pc             30495  0
ppdev                  12590  0
lp                     16895  0
parport                35213  3 lp,ppdev,parport_pc
joydev                 16847  0
iTCO_wdt               12727  0
iTCO_vendor_support    12585  1 iTCO_wdt
eeepc_wmi              12536  0
asus_wmi               22333  1 eeepc_wmi
arc4                   12480  2
ath9k                  84540  0
ath9k_common           21530  1 ath9k
ath9k_hw              384452  2 ath9k_common,ath9k
uvcvideo               69877  0
videobuf2_vmalloc      12720  1 uvcvideo
videobuf2_memops       12471  1 videobuf2_vmalloc
videobuf2_core         39091  1 uvcvideo
v4l2_common            12867  1 videobuf2_core
snd_hda_codec_realtek    53972  1
videodev              103684  3 uvcvideo,v4l2_common,videobuf2_core
snd_hda_codec_generic    53820  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
media                  17894  2 uvcvideo,videodev
snd_hda_intel          26011  1
coretemp               12708  0
psmouse                93985  0
ath                    21707  3 ath9k_common,ath9k,ath9k_hw
pcspkr                 12531  0
serio_raw              12737  0
snd_hda_controller     22115  1 snd_hda_intel
mac80211              321992  1 ath9k
lpc_ich                16616  0
snd_hda_codec          84872  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
sg                     29598  0
thermal                13247  0
cfg80211              198179  4 ath,ath9k_common,ath9k,mac80211
snd_hwdep              12906  1 snd_hda_codec
sparse_keymap          12730  1 asus_wmi
mfd_core               12537  1 lpc_ich
snd_pcm                70084  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
acpi_cpufreq           12903  0
ac                     12627  0
snd_timer              22010  1 snd_pcm
snd                    55130  9 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
rfkill                 18387  2 cfg80211,asus_wmi
evdev                  17136  8
soundcore              12895  2 snd,snd_hda_codec
battery                13164  0
processor              23494  1 acpi_cpufreq
intel_agp              13136  0
atl1c                  39978  0
rng_core               12704  0
ehci_pci               12432  0
uhci_hcd               30468  0
i915                  781042  2
drm_kms_helper         63057  1 i915
drm                   204183  4 i915,drm_kms_helper
intel_gtt              17584  2 i915,intel_agp
i2c_algo_bit           12640  1 i915
wmi                    17147  1 asus_wmi
video                  17745  2 i915,asus_wmi
button                 12860  1 i915
fusbh200_hcd           39510  0
ehci_hcd               47854  1 ehci_pci
Result
Wireless networking set up via Ceni fails



Test 3
System rebooted
Boot param appended: None
Using Desktop=Default in boot screen (i.e. making no selection)
Network cable not connected to system (i.e. wireless only)
Manual network configuration=WICD

Code:
ip addr show
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 90:e6:ba:0c:b2:29 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:25:d3:5a:a6:f6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.2.186/24 brd 192.168.2.255 scope global wlan0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::225:d3ff:fe5a:a6f6/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


inxi -c0 -n
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet driver: atl1c
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 90:e6:ba:0c:b2:29
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 00:25:d3:5a:a6:f6


lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ctr                    12807  1
ccm                    17326  1
af_packet              34646  8
parport_pc             30495  0
ppdev                  12590  0
lp                     16895  0
parport                35213  3 lp,ppdev,parport_pc
uvcvideo               69877  0
iTCO_wdt               12727  0
iTCO_vendor_support    12585  1 iTCO_wdt
videobuf2_vmalloc      12720  1 uvcvideo
videobuf2_memops       12471  1 videobuf2_vmalloc
videobuf2_core         39091  1 uvcvideo
joydev                 16847  0
v4l2_common            12867  1 videobuf2_core
eeepc_wmi              12536  0
videodev              103684  3 uvcvideo,v4l2_common,videobuf2_core
asus_wmi               22333  1 eeepc_wmi
media                  17894  2 uvcvideo,videodev
arc4                   12480  2
ath9k                  84540  0
ath9k_common           21530  1 ath9k
ath9k_hw              384452  2 ath9k_common,ath9k
lpc_ich                16616  0
mfd_core               12537  1 lpc_ich
snd_hda_codec_realtek    53972  1
ath                    21707  3 ath9k_common,ath9k,ath9k_hw
snd_hda_codec_generic    53820  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
mac80211              321992  1 ath9k
snd_hda_intel          26011  1
sg                     29598  0
coretemp               12708  0
pcspkr                 12531  0
cfg80211              198179  4 ath,ath9k_common,ath9k,mac80211
snd_hda_controller     22115  1 snd_hda_intel
psmouse                93985  0
serio_raw              12737  0
snd_hda_codec          84872  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
rng_core               12704  0
atl1c                  39978  0
snd_hwdep              12906  1 snd_hda_codec
acpi_cpufreq           12903  0
snd_pcm                70084  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_timer              22010  1 snd_pcm
snd                    55130  9 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
thermal                13247  0
intel_agp              13136  0
sparse_keymap          12730  1 asus_wmi
soundcore              12895  2 snd,snd_hda_codec
ac                     12627  0
battery                13164  0
processor              23494  1 acpi_cpufreq
rfkill                 18387  3 cfg80211,asus_wmi
evdev                  17136  8
ehci_pci               12432  0
uhci_hcd               30468  0
i915                  781042  2
drm_kms_helper         63057  1 i915
drm                   204183  4 i915,drm_kms_helper
intel_gtt              17584  2 i915,intel_agp
i2c_algo_bit           12640  1 i915
wmi                    17147  1 asus_wmi
video                  17745  2 i915,asus_wmi
button                 12860  1 i915
fusbh200_hcd           39510  0
ehci_hcd               47854  1 ehci_pci
Result
Wireless networking set up via WICD successful



Summary
Wireless automatic set up fails
Wireless manually set up via Ceni fails due to "Module p80211 not found" although seems to be loaded
Wireless manually set up via WICD succeeds without manually loading any modules


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 2148
a couple of points to samk's notes on wireless.

1. there shouldn't be automatic connection of a wireless network, as association to a essid requires interaction. It does look like the correct driver was utilized in samk's tests.

2. connection with ceni has been shown to work previously by removal of the linux-wlan-ng package, which is the source of the offending module that interrupts ceni. the package is for older kernels and contains drivers for prism based wireless cards. research indicates that prism drivers are currently included in the mainline kernel. the prism2 firmware packages are apparently still required.

3. yep.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
sony laptop amd 900mhz duran 512mb ram, antix 13 32-bit
lenovo s21e - 2gb ram, celeron - antiX-16 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:59 am
Posts: 995
In alpha5 what is the command to manually run the menu update process that is automatically started following an apt-get --install packagename command?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 2148
SamK wrote:
In alpha5 what is the command to manually run the menu update process that is automatically started following an apt-get --install packagename command?


the commands that run are shown in / etc/apt/apt.conf.d/99-update-menus .

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
sony laptop amd 900mhz duran 512mb ram, antix 13 32-bit
lenovo s21e - 2gb ram, celeron - antiX-16 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:59 am
Posts: 995
dolphin_oracle wrote:
the commands that run are shown in / etc/apt/apt.conf.d/99-update-menus .
Don't have that
Code:
ls / etc/apt/apt.conf.d/
01autoremove  20apt-show-versions  70debconf  99synaptic
This a5 live no persistence.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 2148
SamK wrote:
dolphin_oracle wrote:
the commands that run are shown in / etc/apt/apt.conf.d/99-update-menus .
Don't have that
Code:
ls / etc/apt/apt.conf.d/
01autoremove  20apt-show-versions  70debconf  99synaptic
This a5 live no persistence.



well, I did take that from the a4 liveCD, so maybe it was left out.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
sony laptop amd 900mhz duran 512mb ram, antix 13 32-bit
lenovo s21e - 2gb ram, celeron - antiX-16 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 2148
SamK wrote:
dolphin_oracle wrote:
the commands that run are shown in / etc/apt/apt.conf.d/99-update-menus .
Don't have that
Code:
ls / etc/apt/apt.conf.d/
01autoremove  20apt-show-versions  70debconf  99synaptic
This a5 live no persistence.



I just found an "a5" liveusb. I ran without persistence, and 99-update-menus is present.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
sony laptop amd 900mhz duran 512mb ram, antix 13 32-bit
lenovo s21e - 2gb ram, celeron - antiX-16 64 bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: antiX-14R-a4-a5 patch
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:59 am
Posts: 995
dolphin_oracle wrote:
I just found an "a5" liveusb. I ran without persistence, and 99-update-menus is present.
Thanks for doing that.

Two power-down and reboot cycles later and 99-update-menus suddenly appeared on this rig in liveusb mode.
I can't explain the behaviour.
  • The md5sums check out OK
  • There does not seem to be any corruption on the USB stick
  • The hardware is in daily use and rock-solid with 13.2-Stable
I've posted a few reports from this system in this thread. Alpha5 behaves unpredictably on this particular machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 114 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred